The University of Queensland (UQ) is one of Australia's premier learning and research institutions. Established in Brisbane in 1911, it is the largest and oldest university in Queensland, with seven faculties and a cluster of international-quality research centres and institutes at the frontiers of emerging research fields, particularly within the biosciences. On a variety of measures, the University of Queensland is one of the top three or four universities in the country, with internationally recognised research and postgraduate education.

All four Research Institutes, and three faculties are involved in the Solander Program – the Faculty of Biological & Chemical Sciences (BACS), the Faculty of Engineering, Physical Sciences & Architecture (EPSA) and the Faculty of Health Sciences (HS).