With twelve faculties and a large number of research centres and specialized institutes, the University of Melbourne is the largest university in the state of Victoria, and one of the largest in Australia. The university is located in central Melbourne, but also has several other campuses located throughout Victoria.

The University of Melbourne was founded in 1853, very early in the history of the British colony of Victoria and less than two years after the Victorian gold rush commenced the dramatic increase of population and wealth. The University itself was made possible by the wealth of gold and was a demonstration of Victoria’s new importance. The university was also an assertion of Melbourne’s equality with Sydney, whose university opened in 1852. Today the University of Melbourne is one of the most successful and prestigious in Australia, with a world reputation for research and higher education.